Weekend Wrap-up: Military Personal Finance Articles You Should Read (4/8-4/14)

Weekend (red)Enjoy this edition of “Military Personal Finance Articles You Should Read.” This blog entry only serves to summarize some of the previous week’s best personal finance articles, blog posts, and other content from a variety of sources so that you don’t have to. The intent isn’t for you to read every single article (although you’re a superstar if you do), but it’s to curate a lot of content into one easily digestible article that allows you to pick and choose the content you want.

This issue starts with a couple of Kate Horrell articles:

  • Cutting Your Cell Phone Bills:  Yes You Can.  This article goes into depth about alternative cell phone providers
  • A Plan for Your Tax Refund.  This is a guest post by JJ Montanaro, in which he discusses various options for your tax refund.  One option, which I use, is to use the child tax credit portion ($1,000 per child) as a set-aside for each child’s 529 plan.  You can read more about that in my GI Bill article, if you wish.

From there, we have two outstanding, in depth articles from Doug Nordman.  Both articles have to do with VA disability claims, but go much more into depth about the process.  Specifically, Doug’s articles go into depth on:

Finally, we have an article from Byron Chen, a Marine who started a transition service to help servicemembers with their post-military experience.  In this article, Byron discusses what you can do to negotiate your salary with your future employer.

Also, if you missed my articles, you can catch them here.  If your finances keep you up at night, or you’re worried about doing the right thing, start with reading this article.  Simply put, if your financial situation is overwhelming you, reach out to the Military in Transition group on Facebook, or find a fee-only financial planner that you can trust to help you walk through your financial situation.  Wednesday’s article was my first (in what I hope to be a long series) interview article.  This week’s article was with Spencer Baker, and you can catch it right here! BTW, I’m continually looking for people to interview (or else I’m going to keep finding boring old Navy people to talk with), so if you’d like to share your story, please feel free to hit me up!Weekend (red)

Hope you enjoy the content!

As always, this blog serves to answer your questions and address concerns.  If you like this blog, please forward it on to other people who may benefit.  If you have issues or concerns, or if you have a question you’d like me to answer, please feel free to contact me.  You can reach me through my website, or via email.  In the meanwhile, take charge of your life!

About Forrest Baumhover

I'm a career naval officer, and a fee-only financial planner. Half-way through my career, I discovered that I had a passion for financial planning, and have pursued this as my second career. My specialty is working with military professionals who are looking to separate or retire from the service, and who feel they need some professional guidance to make sure they're on track.
This entry was posted in Weekend Wrap-up and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment